Aiche meet the faculty candidate 2012 election

CAST Communications - Summer

aiche meet the faculty candidate 2012 election

Alum Accepts Position at Case Western Reserve University . Three Professors co-instructed workshops at the annual meeting of the North American Membrane Society (NAMS). Congratulations to Cory Zalesak for receipt of the AIChE . Click on the image for more information about the campaign. of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and an adjunct faculty member in both December Meeting – Bring Your Spouse Night . Ballot — Knoxville -Oak Ridge AIChE Officers for . A nominee for election as FELLOW shall have been in chemical engineering practice for an adequate. Aug 17, ; Comments (2) 3/5 in the series AIChE Election Candidates Q&A He said a local AIChE section luncheon meeting. Professor Zare, who is a Stanford University faculty member, is a winner of the National.

More details can be found at http: Taslim's dissertation is supervised by Dr. October The work of recent Ph. Carla Lacerda was featured on the front cover of Tissue and Cell. In the work, Ali found that activated valvular cells in low-confluence cultures are rhomboidal whereas quiescent cells are spindle-shaped.

Chemical Engineering

The methodology reported is the first non-destructive approach to detect valvular cell transformation. His research, which is supervised by Dr. Wei Li, focusses on isolation of circulating tumor cells from blood using nanostructured hollow glass microspheres.

It was great to see young and old alumni and many friends of the department. Thanks to all for a great evening! Jen is performing her dissertation under the guidance of Dr. Vanapalli using worms as a model system to determine the effects of exercise and nutrition on muscle mass and aging.

These twelve juniors and seniors are our best and brightest, demonstrating extraordinary competence in ChE, a committment to being a well-rounded scholar, and high integrity and stature.

Simon, received Travel Awards to attend the same meeting. Khatib, made the cover of ChemCatChem. Their article demonstrates how methane from natural gas can be upgraded directly into benzene and hydrogen.

aiche meet the faculty candidate 2012 election

Read More Congratulations to Ph. The three, along with Drs. Siva Vanapalli and Dr. Mizanur Rahman won an Innovation Award at the Tech Connect Conference in Anaheim, CA, for their microfluidic technology used to conduct aging investigations in nematodes. May Congratulations to our largest graduation class to date, with 85 seniors graduating and ChE Hattie Schunk leading the way as the College flagbearer.

aiche meet the faculty candidate 2012 election

Congratulations to the Best TAs for Spring Uriel Garza Rubalcava and Chunhao Zhai! Harvinder Gill was inducted into the National Academy of Inventors for his patents related to microneedles and pollen grains for drug and vaccine delivery. April Junior Caleb D. Caleb presented a poster on his undergraduate research which he performs in Prof.

Laird's research interests include large-scale nonlinear optimization and parallel scientific computing. Focus areas include chemical process systems, homeland security applications, and large-scale infectious disease spread.

Laird is the recipient of several research and teaching awards, including the prestigious Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software and the IBM Bravo award for his work on IPOPT, a software library for solving nonlinear, nonconvex, large-scale continuous optimization problems.

aiche meet the faculty candidate 2012 election

Laird earned his Ph. The winner of the Directors' Award is: Adomaitis, and is slated to complete her degree in December of Curtisha spent two years teaching high school chemistry and general science in Newark, NJ prior to beginning graduate school at the University of Maryland where her research focuses on modeling the surface reactions, film growth, and reactor transport dynamics in atomic layer deposition processes. Upon obtaining her PhD, Curtisha hopes to first begin a career in industry that continues her emphasis on thin films.

During that time she hopes to partner with universities and local communities to build and sustain STEM pipeline programs for under-represented minority students, and perhaps transition back into academia at a later time. Arul Sundaramoorthy, James M. Evans, and Paul I. Sam Mannan, and Carl D.

This award recognizes outstanding contributions in the application of computing and systems technology to chemical engineering, and is sponsored by The Dow Chemical Company. His research covers the areas of modeling, control, and optimization of process and systems engineering applications. This award recognizes outstanding contributions in the practice or application of chemical engineering to computing and systems technology, and is sponsored by Aspen Technology, Inc.

His career with DuPont included assignments in advanced process control systems implementation, polymer products development and manufacturing, kinetic modeling, strategic planning, and research management.

aiche meet the faculty candidate 2012 election

It is with sad news that we report that our colleague, Dr. John Congalidis, passed away on January 17, Videos of their two runs are available here: Joe presented his work with Professor Maria Coleman on polymeric ionic liquids.

Jordan started his own non-profit organization in called 'Save the Feet'. As an award recipient, Jordan will be attending a recognition event in Washington DC.

Three Students Recognized at College Commencement December 14, Three ChemE students were recognized for their accomplishments at the fall commencement: She plans on pursuing a Ph. Pictured with Sunitha are organizers of the student poster competition.

Department News | Department | Department of Chemical Engineering | TTU

Way to go Jordan! He was presented the award on April 22nd in a ceremony held in the Student Union. John Dismukes was recognized at the Spring Honors Convocation for his years of service and dedication to the Chemical Engineering Department. Dismukes will be retiring at the end of the spring semester.

Meyya Meyyappan, 2018 Concordia Honorary Doctorate

Thank you and best wishes, Dr. The Department is fortunate to have so many scholars who freely give their time to help others be successful.

UT will contribute state-of-the-art equipment to the effort as well as graduate student support under the supervison of Professor Maria Coleman. Click on the image to access the UT News article. Be sure to view all of the photos - the looks on the children's faces and Professor Lipscomb's are priceless.

Winners were selected based on nominations highlighting ways that faculty and staff have positively influenced students through enthusiasm, knowledge, dedication and creativity. Click on the images to view a larger version. These awards are presented to entering or first year, Ph.

It is the highest student award the College of Graduate studies offers and provides a stipend for the academic year.

Back Row - Eduardo Diaz: VP of Projects, Alejandro Vera: VP of Membership, and Katie Burns: Secretary and Charlotte Ackerman: Professor Maria Coleman will lead research efforts at UT. They carry on the long tradition of our students receiving awards at this prestigious meeting. They are pictured with their advisor Professor Escobar.